Marilyn's Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

When computers go haywire

I type this on another computer while mine is getting exorcised.

Thursday, my computer went haywire.

I was just doing business online, and suddenly, my antivirus started going ballistic. Every half minute or so, it would pop up a message that so many malware or viruses were cropping up. I was quarantining left and right when my computer froze.

I hit the control-alt-delete to smack down the antivirus, log off, and reboot, and THAT froze.

My desktop icons and my bottom bar disappeared completely. The computer, which is normally very quiet, was whirring up a storm. I did what I hated to do and what I had no choice to do: turned it off by pushing in the button.

On reboot, I got the usual windows splash screen, then when the desktop should have appeared, this ugly blue error screen with “Fatal Error” and not allowed to log on.

I tried every way possible to log in to no avail. I do know that in safe mode with commands, windows is still present. I just cannot completely boot. I finally gave up and contacted my son-in-law who is going to have a go with it, and hopefully, I’ll have my computer back.

Later on Thursday evening, I was speaking with my best friend, Marty. Now, we usually spend hours (literally) talking or visiting. This was no different.

In the course of our conversation, several times one of us would mention something and it would involve,  “I wonder how much this costs?”,  “Have you seen?”,  “Marilyn, type in…” types of comments. Of course, it stopped dead in the water when I’d remember and say I can’t.

Now, years ago we had no Internet. Then we had Internet and it was more of an enhancement than a necessity.  Now I’d think it is safe to say that we are so bound to the Internet and electronic technology that if we don’t have our smart phones, IPads, or other computer devices or access to the Internet, our lives are severely hamstringed.

4 responses to “When computers go haywire

  1. Wil January 8, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    All I have to say… “Get A MAC!” Far less head aches. MACS just work!

    • Marilyn January 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      That’s like telling a poor person with car problems to upgrade from his beater to a Porsche. I can’t buy a MAC on my budget and I can’t “wait to save” or I will be without a computer for at least a few years. Not a realistic option for the immediate now.

  2. Wil January 8, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    I know I know! Then again, there is always “credit” if you can swing that. Anyway, not that MAC doesn’t have it’s problems. But the thing is that computers have become an intricate part of our lives. In a lot of instances, it is important for us to have one since it does help with a lot of things that are harder to do without computer.

    Another option is looking at something much more cheaper as a spare. Quite possibly, in your case, maybe purchase a LAPTOP… this way, it will serve not only as a back up, but also as something more convenient since you can use it anywhere.

  3. Marilyn January 11, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Not in a place to do credit for a few years, Wil. I am also thinking about a notebook/laptop sometime in the future.

Leave a Reply

