Marilyn's Musings

Just another WordPress.com site

The best Christmas gift ever

On my facebook on one of my friend’s wall was this post:

Every person has 1000 wishes, a cancer patient only has one: to get better and be a survivor. I know 97% of you won’t post this as your status, but my friends will be the 3% who do, in honor of someone who died of or is fighting cancer.

Years ago, I was diagnosed in my twenties with cancer. It was a rough time for us to go through. I couldn’t have any more children as a result, but was blessed to have  two of the most beautiful and loving daughters one could ever hope to have.

During that time, I went through many emotional, mental, and physical changes. It is hard to go from “normal” to instant menopause. And more so because hormone replacement therapy was not an option.

My husband stood by me through it all.

This past year, my husband was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin Lymphoma. It was my turn to stand by him.

We went through it together. He is now, thankfully, in remission.

This all has set me to thinking.

We want the latest smart phone. Send me a Kindle. A Wii, whatever. But put in perspective, when a diagnosis like that hits home  personally or for a loved one, it tends to jerk a person back to realizing that all these material things, while all well and good, can’t compensate for having good health and your loved ones with you. All of these things are nothing but dust in comparison.

I may receive nice gifts for Christmas. And at this point, if I had nothing more than boxed macaroni and cheese for our dinner and nothing under the tree, it wouldn’t matter. In the greater scheme of things, I have already received the best gift possible and there is no way it can be topped: My husband is in remission.

2 responses to “The best Christmas gift ever

  1. Voguerista December 2, 2010 at 9:27 am

    Beautiful post M! I love this! ❤ !!!

Leave a Reply

